

Rutland County Council

Catmose, Oakham, Rutland, LE15 6HP Telephone 01572 722577 Email: democraticservices@rutland.gov.uk

Members of Rutland County Council District Council are hereby summoned to attend the **249**th **(ANNUAL) MEETING OF THE COUNCIL** to be held in the Council Chamber at Catmose, Oakham on **22 May 2023 commencing at 7.00 pm.** The business to be transacted at the meeting is specified in the Agenda set out below.

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, the Chairman will offer the opportunity for those present to join him in prayers.

Recording of Council Meetings: Any member of the public may film, audio-record, take photographs and use social media to report the proceedings of any meeting that is open to the public. A protocol on this facility is available at www.rutland.gov.uk/my-council/have-your-say/

Although social distancing regulations have ended there is still limited seating available for Members of the public. If you would like to reserve a seat please contact the Democratic Services Team <u>democraticservices@rutland.gov.uk</u>. The meeting will also be available for listening live on Zoom using the following link: <u>https://us06web.zoom.us/j/82648170249</u>

Mark Andrews Chief Executive

AGENDA

1) ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The outgoing Chairman will invite nominations for office of Chairman of the Council for the 2023-24 Municipal Year.

Upon election, the incoming Chairman of the Council will sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office and be invested with the Chairman's Chain of Office and take the Chairman's Chair.

The Chairman of the Council may make a short speech of acceptance of office.

2) ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman of the Council will invite nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman of the Council for 2023/24 Municipal Year.

The Vice-Chairman will sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office and the outgoing Vice-Chairman will then invest the incoming Vice-Chairman with the Chain of Office. The Chairman of the Council will then invite the Vice-Chairman to take the Vice-Chairman's Chair.

In the event of the outgoing Vice-Chairman being re-elected, the Vice-Chairman will retain the Chain of Office and remain seated.

The Vice-Chairman of the Council may make a short speech of acceptance of office.

3) APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

4) CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

5) ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

6) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In accordance with the Regulations, Members are invited to declare any disclosable interests under the Code of Conduct and the nature of those interests in respect of items on this Agenda and/or indicate if Section 106 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 applies to them.

7) ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman of the Council will invite nominations for the office of Leader of the Council for a term of four years until the next Annual Meeting after ordinary whole Council elections.

8) NOTIFICATION BY THE LEADER OF APPOINTMENTS TO THE EXECUTIVE

The Council is requested to note the appointment of members of the Executive (Including the Deputy Leader) and their portfolios as announced by the Leader.

9) SCHEME OF DELEGATION (Pages 5 - 50)

To receive Report No. 72/2023 from the Strategic Director for Law and Governance.

10) POLITICAL BALANCE CALCULATION AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS (Pages 51 - 56)

To receive Report No. 69/2023 from the Strategic Director for Law and Governance.

11) APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS (Pages 57 - 66)

To receive Report No. 70/2023 from the Strategic Director for Law and Governance.

12) PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS 2023/24 (Pages 67 - 74)

To receive Report No. 71/2023 from the Strategic Director for Law and Governance.

13) ANY URGENT BUSINESS

To receive items of urgent business which have been previously notified to the person presiding.

14) DATE OF NEXT MEETING

10 July 2023 (Subject to approval of the Programme of Meetings)

---000----

TO: MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

J Dale – Outgoing Chairman of the Council Councillor N Begy – Vice-Chairman of the Council

- Councillor A Brown Councillor P Browne Councillor G Clifton Councillor H Edwards Councillor M Farina Councillor K Heckels Councillor A Johnson Councillor A MacCartney Councillor K Payne Councillor R Powell Councillor R Powell Councillor T Smith Councillor G Waller Councillor C Wise
- Councillor T Carr Councillor M Chatfield Councillor K Corby Councillor D Ellison Councillor S Harvey Councillor O Hemsley Councillor S Lambert Councillor S McRobb Councillor R Payne Councillor R Ross Councillor L Stephenson Councillor D Wilby Councillor H Zollinger-Ball

---000----

THE COUNCIL'S STRATEGIC AIMS

- A special place
- Sustainable lives
- Health and well
- A county for everyone
- A modern and effective Council